Buy the EGO CS1611 16-inch kit with 56V 2.5Ah battery and charger (B09X26ZHPV) if you need a complete saw to start cutting at $249.00; buy the Milwaukee 2727-20 M18 FUEL 16-inch saw as a bare tool (B07FRRFR47) only if you already own M18 batteries and accept the $279.00 bare price plus a third-party seller. The EGO concentrates on ready-to-cut value: the maker rates the CS1611 at 40CC gas equivalent with a 16-inch bar and chain at 20m/s, up to 130 cuts on a 4x4 with the included 56V 2.5Ah ARC Lithium battery, tool-free tensioning dials, IPX4 weather resistance, low-kickback chain with brake indicator and automatic oiling. The Milwaukee concentrates on the M18 system: the maker rates the 2727-20 with POWERSTATE brushless power to 40CC gas performance, a 16-inch Oregon bar and chain, up to 150 cuts per charge, automatic oiler, dual-stud retention, onboard scrench storage, variable-speed trigger and REDLINK PLUS protection, with battery and charger not included. On 09/16/2026 the exact EGO kit was In Stock on Amazon US at $249.00, shipped from and sold by Amazon.com, and the exact Milwaukee bare saw was In Stock at $279.00, shipped from and sold by Jeff’s garage.
Choose by your situation
| Situation | Model to consider | Main tradeoff |
|---|---|---|
| You own no outdoor batteries and want to cut storm limbs this weekend | EGO CS1611 kit | 130-cut claim is tied to the included 2.5Ah pack; larger packs cost extra |
| You already own M18 HIGH OUTPUT packs and want a second 16-inch saw | Milwaukee 2727-20 bare | Bare price buys no battery or charger; the 150-cut claim needs an HD12.0 bought separately |
| You want the fastest field chain adjustment without a tool | EGO CS1611 | Low-profile dials still need bar-oil checks; oil is not included in the box |
| You want dual-stud bar retention with onboard wrench storage | Milwaukee 2727-20 | Bar needs a scrench turn; chain speed is not published in the observed pages |
Specifications that change the decision
| Criterion | EGO CS1611 kit (B09X26ZHPV) | Milwaukee 2727-20 bare (B07FRRFR47) |
|---|---|---|
| Bar and chain length | 16-inch bar and chain per maker and listing | 16-inch Oregon bar and chain per maker and listing |
| Power claim | 40CC gas equivalent, high-efficiency brushless, per maker and listing | Power and performance of a gas engine up to 40CC, POWERSTATE brushless, per maker and listing |
| Cuts per charge | Up to 130 cuts on a 4x4 with the included 56V 2.5Ah pack per maker and listing | Up to 150 cuts per charge per maker and listing; bare box includes no pack, so confirm which pack the claim needs before comparing runtime |
| Chain speed | 20m/s per maker and listing | No chain-speed figure in the observed maker or listing pages |
| Chain pitch and gauge | 3/8-inch pitch, .043-inch gauge per maker and listing; drive-link count differs between maker 56 and listing 52, so compare on pitch and gauge only | Pitch, gauge and drive-link count not stated in the observed maker or listing pages |
| Chain tensioning | Tool-free tensioning dials per maker and listing | Dual-stud retention with onboard scrench storage per maker; listing confirms variable-speed trigger and auto oiler |
| Oiling | Automatic oiling per maker and listing; maker says bar and chain oil is not included and the tank must be filled before first use | Automatic oiler per maker and listing; oil inclusion is not stated in the observed pages, so confirm in the manual |
| Safety and weather | Low-kickback chain with brake indicator and IPX4 construction per maker and listing | Low-kickback 16-inch setup is described in search-visible maker copy; brake type and weather rating are not named in the observed exact-variant blocks, so confirm in the manual |
| Controls | Trigger operation with independent tensioning dials per maker | Variable-speed trigger with full throttle in under 1 second per maker; listing confirms variable-speed trigger |
| What is in the box | 56V 2.5Ah battery with fuel gauge and standard charger included per maker and listing | Battery and charger not included per listing title and bullets; compatible with all M18 packs per maker and listing |
| Warranty in observed pages | 5-year limited tool and 3-year limited battery warranty per maker; listing says warranty can be requested from customer service without a duration | No warranty duration in the observed maker or listing blocks; confirm terms before treating warranty as decisive |
| Observed Amazon US offer, 09/16/2026 | $249.00, In Stock, shipped from and sold by Amazon.com | $279.00, In Stock, shipped from and sold by Jeff’s garage |
EGO CS1611 16-inch kit: the ready-to-cut pick
The CS1611 (16-inch, 56V 2.5Ah kit) is the pick when the box must contain everything except the oil. The mechanism is explicit: mount the included 2.5Ah ARC Lithium pack, fill the oil tank with bar and chain oil before the first cut, set tension with the tool-free dials, and the brushless drive runs the 16-inch chain at 20m/s with automatic oiling while the brake indicator shows guard status. The maker ties up to 130 4x4 cuts to that 2.5Ah pack, and the IPX4 rating plus low-kickback design address damp storm cleanup rather than underwater use. Its limits are consumables and chain details: oil is a separate purchase, the maker counts 56 drive links while the listing counts 52 on the same 3/8-inch by .043-inch chain, so order spares by bar, pitch and gauge after confirming links in the manual, and larger EGO packs that extend runtime add cost. The listing showed 4.6 out of 5 stars across 636 ratings, which is a listing display, not a test result.
Milwaukee 2727-20 16-inch bare: the M18-system pick
The 2727-20 (16-inch, tool only) is the pick when M18 packs already live in the shop. The mechanism is explicit: drop in a compatible M18 pack, tension and clamp the 16-inch Oregon bar through the dual-stud hardware with the stored scrench, and the POWERSTATE brushless motor with REDLINK PLUS protection drives automatic oiling under a variable-speed trigger that reaches full throttle in under 1 second. The maker claims up to 150 cuts per charge and faster-than-gas cutting, and the listing confirms higher-capacity packs yield higher performance, which means the bare price is only part of the system cost when no HD12.0 is on hand. Its limits are scope and paperwork: the observed pages publish no chain speed, no pitch, gauge or link count, and no warranty duration, and the 14-inch and 16-inch bars are interchangeable only within the 2727 family, so confirm chain, oil and warranty in the manual. The listing showed 4.7 out of 5 stars across 1,461 ratings, which is a listing display, not a test result.
Kit completeness against system ownership
Day-to-day difference comes down to what is already charged on the bench. The EGO kit removes a second purchase: one 56V 2.5Ah pack with fuel gauge and a standard charger are in the box, so a buyer with no outdoor batteries can fill oil and start bucking limbs. That convenience locks the buyer into the 56V ARC Lithium line for longer runtime, and the 130-cut figure cannot be compared cut-for-cut with the Milwaukee 150-cut figure because the battery energies and test loads are not published side by side. The Milwaukee bare saw removes weight from the ticket only when the battery already exists: an M18 owner with a HIGH OUTPUT pack gets dual-stud retention, scrench storage and 14-inch and 16-inch interchangeability without paying for another charger, while a buyer with no M18 pack must add pack and charger cost that quickly passes the EGO kit price. Neither maker publishes a measured cutting test or an extraction-style method in the observed pages, so treat both cut counts as maker claims tied to specific packs, not as calibration certificates. If the job is weekend storm cleanup with no compatible packs at home, only the EGO covers it in one box; if the job extends an existing M18 fleet, only the Milwaukee avoids a redundant battery system.
Power, oiling and what the numbers do not prove
Both saws claim 40CC gas-equivalent performance from brushless motors with automatic oilers, so maximum limb diameter does not separate them at 16 inches; compare total bar length, not per-side or per-100-g figures from other categories. Chain speed separates only one side: 20m/s is published for the EGO and no figure is published for the Milwaukee in the observed pages, so do not rank cutting speed on that gap. Chain geometry also separates only partly: the EGO publishes 3/8-inch pitch and .043-inch gauge on both maker and listing with the 56-versus-52 link discrepancy described above, while the Milwaukee publishes Oregon branding without pitch, gauge or links in the observed blocks. Energy arithmetic helps frame runtime without inventing tests: 56V times 2.5Ah is about 140Wh included with the EGO, while 18V times 12Ah is about 216Wh for the HD12.0 pack the Milwaukee claim is tied to, which is sold separately for the bare tool. Use that arithmetic only to explain why the cut counts cannot be compared directly; wood species, moisture, chain sharpness and operator load change real cuts per charge.
Warranty and what it costs to own
The EGO warranty story is the clearer of the two in the observed pages: 5-year limited tool with 3-year limited battery on the maker page against a listing that only offers to request warranty from customer service. The Milwaukee observed pages name no warranty duration on either the maker tool-only block or the listing, so confirm terms in the manual before treating warranty as decisive. Running cost is bar and chain oil plus chains and eventual packs on both sides: the EGO maker says oil is not included, the Milwaukee oil inclusion is unstated, and neither observed page prices replacement chains or packs. Electricity is not a factor at this size next to the ticket gap. At the observed Amazon prices the bare Milwaukee costs $30.00 more than the complete EGO kit ($279.00 against $249.00) before adding any M18 pack or charger, and the Milwaukee ships from a third-party seller while the EGO ships from Amazon.com, so confirm seller, delivery window and returns on the exact-variant page. Compare only the observed machine prices and the warranty split; fuel, oil and electricity are not observed here.
Where to check the exact variants
Compare the EGO CS1611 16-inch kit with 56V 2.5Ah battery and charger (B09X26ZHPV) (observed In Stock at $249.00 on 09/16/2026, shipped from and sold by Amazon.com) against the Milwaukee 2727-20 M18 FUEL 16-inch saw as a bare tool (B07FRRFR47) (observed In Stock at $279.00 on 09/16/2026, shipped from and sold by Jeff’s garage). Model and inclusion matter here: the EGO page centers the CS1611 kit with battery and charger included, and the Milwaukee page centers the 2727-20 with battery and charger not included, so confirm the model code and inclusion line on the exact-variant page before buying. If a complete first kit matters most, take the EGO; if feeding an existing M18 battery fleet matters most, take the Milwaukee bare saw and budget the pack separately.