Buy the DeWalt DCS382B 20V MAX XR bare saw (B09NP9H7SG) if you already charge 20V MAX packs and want the lower observed bare-tool outlay with a compact body for overhead and between-stud cuts; buy the Milwaukee 2821-20 M18 FUEL SAWZALL bare saw (B08WG2HC81) if you already charge M18 packs and want the longer 1-1/4-inch stroke with 0-3,000 SPM for faster material removal on demolition days. Both are brushless cordless reciprocating saws sold as bare tools, so the battery platform you own decides more of the answer than any single specification: neither box includes a pack or charger, and the observed This-item rows on 09/16/2026 read $144.99 for the DeWalt against $183.98 for the Milwaukee, each with low-stock wording and a third-party seller, so confirm the live price, seller and stock before deciding.
Choose by your situation
| Situation | Model to consider | Main tradeoff |
|---|---|---|
| You own 20V MAX batteries and cut pipe, strut, nails and framing between studs or overhead | DeWalt DCS382B | 1-1/8-inch stroke removes less per stroke than the Milwaukee 1-1/4-inch stroke; DeWalt headline speed was not stated on the observed maker page. |
| You own M18 batteries and tear out rooms, pallets, decking and roots where stroke length sets the pace | Milwaukee 2821-20 | Higher observed bare-tool outlay ($183.98 against $144.99 on 09/16/2026); Only 1 left wording means the row can vanish before you check out. |
| You own no packs on either platform and need the cheapest working saw first | DeWalt DCS382B | First-battery and charger prices were not observed, so do the live kit math: the $38.99 bare-tool gap only matters if the DeWalt-side starter pack does not erase it. |
| You change blades constantly with gloves on, or hang the saw on ladders and joists all day | Milwaukee 2821-20 | Lever clamp and hang hook are convenience hardware, not cutting power; the Milwaukee warranty period was not stated in the observed blocks. |
What the two bare tools share
Both saws are brushless, cordless, and sold without a battery or charger: DeWalt states battery and charger sold separately with compatibility across 20V MAX and FLEXVOLT packs, and Milwaukee states the XC5.0 pack is not included with compatibility across all M18 batteries and chargers. Both carry an onboard LED work light, a tool-free blade clamp, and a shoe that steadies the saw against the workpiece. Both manuals warn that the workpiece and blade stay hot immediately after cutting, and both Amazon pages rendered as fallback detail pages on 09/16/2026 with the featured price hidden behind the add-to-cart step, so treat every figure below as observed-that-day and re-check live.
DeWalt DCS382B: the compact-platform value saw
The DeWalt DCS382B pairs a 1-1/8-inch stroke with a compact body the maker positions for maneuverability: the short stroke cycles a shorter blade path, which keeps vibration and tool length down in tight bays, and the consequence is easier overhead and between-stud work at the cost of less material per stroke. The twist-style keyless clamp changes blades without tools, and because a twist collar needs a deliberate grip-and-turn rather than a lever flick, gloved changes are secure but slower than a lever. The pivoting shoe rocks against the workpiece through the cut, which steadies the blade entry and reduces bouncing on round stock like pipe and conduit. The 2-finger variable trigger meters speed by pull depth, which gives control on nails and thin metal without a mode dial to learn. DeWalt backs it with a stated 3-year limited warranty, 1-year free service and 90-day satisfaction guarantee, and the box holds the DCS382 saw plus one blade, so you start cutting the day your 20V MAX pack arrives.
Milwaukee 2821-20: the long-stroke demolition saw
The Milwaukee 2821-20 pairs a 1-1/4-inch stroke with 0-3,000 SPM: the longer stroke drags more teeth through the kerf on every cycle, which removes material faster in wood, demolition and nail-embedded stock, and the consequence is fewer strokes per cut at the cost of a longer, busier tool in tight quarters. Milwaukee calls it the fastest cutting saw in its class, which is a maker claim rather than a measured result, and its REDLINK PLUS electronics plus POWERSTATE brushless motor are the mechanism the maker credits for holding speed under load. The lever-actuated QUIK-LOK clamp flips open for blade swaps, which is the faster gloved change of the two designs, and the anti-corrosion clamp plus metal-reinforced battery rails target the two wear points that kill jobsite saws. The adjustable shoe slides to expose fresh blade teeth, which extends blade life across a demolition day, and the hang hook parks the saw on ladders and joists where the DeWalt has no hook. The maker positions it as lighter than the previous generation and cites up to 2.5X runtime on the XC5.0 pack, both maker framings rather than independent measurements.
Head-to-head on the criteria that change the answer
| Criterion | DeWalt DCS382B | Milwaukee 2821-20 |
|---|---|---|
| Observed bare-tool outlay (09/16/2026 This-item rows) | $144.99, Only 9 left, PrimePicks Commerce | $183.98, Only 1 left, Super Bargains via Amazon Fulfillment |
| Stroke length | 1-1/8 inch | 1-1/4 inch |
| No-load speed | Variable trigger; no headline SPM on the observed maker page | 0-3,000 SPM (manual spec table) |
| Blade clamp | Twist-style keyless collar | Lever-actuated QUIK-LOK with anti-corrosion clamp |
| Shoe | Pivoting shoe | Adjustable shoe |
| Hang hook | Not listed in the observed blocks | Integrated hang hook |
| Battery platform | 20V MAX and FLEXVOLT packs, sold separately | All M18 packs and chargers, pack not included |
| Stated warranty | 3-year limited, 1-year free service, 90-day satisfaction | Period not stated in the observed blocks |
| Amazon signals (09/16/2026) | 4.7 stars, 1,262 ratings, 300+ bought, #38 in Power Reciprocating Saws | 4.8 stars, 1,388 ratings, 600+ bought, #9 in Power Reciprocating Saws |
Bare-tool math: why the platform decides more than the stroke
A bare saw without a pack is half a purchase. The observed $38.99 gap between the two This-item rows buys real accessories, but it evaporates the moment the other platform's starter pack prices lower live: neither battery nor charger prices were observed, so price the full working set (saw plus one pack plus charger) on the live pages before concluding anything about value. Platform ownership breaks the tie mechanically: a shelf of 20V MAX packs earns nothing from an M18 charger, and a shelf of M18 packs earns nothing from another 20V MAX charger, so buy the saw that feeds the batteries you already charge unless you are deliberately switching systems. Blade money matters too: the DeWalt box includes one blade, the Milwaukee bare-tool blade count was not stated in the observed blocks, and demolition blades are consumables either way, so confirm box contents live and budget a multipack for either saw.
Drawbacks and open facts on both sides
Neither page proves real cutting speed: Milwaukee's fastest-in-class line, both runtime framings and both Amazon velocity badges are maker or marketplace claims, not measured tests, and no head-to-head timing exists in the observed evidence. Both buyboxes rendered as fallback detail pages on 09/16/2026 with summary widgets reading no featured offers, main-widget prices hidden behind add-to-cart, and third-party sellers throughout (Mel Sale on the DeWalt main widget; FlipSpace on the Milwaukee main widget; PrimePicks Commerce and Super Bargains on the respective This-item rows), plus a Used-Like-New strip on the DeWalt page that belongs to other offers and is excluded from the new-unit figures. Stock wording was thin on both sides (Only 9 left; Only 1 left) and moves without notice, the Milwaukee Only-1-left row can disappear first, and delivery dates, sellers and prices change daily. DeWalt's headline SPM, bare-tool weight and the Milwaukee warranty period and bare-tool blade count were not stated in the observed blocks, so any page that asserts them is guessing. Two further Milwaukee listings for the same 2821-20 (B0F2Z6FZLC with seller ToolMasters Associates; B0G14YQJT1 with only See All Buying Options and New (3) from $296.71) showed no exact-variant price-and-stock triple and were not recommended. A lifecycle note for DeWalt shoppers: the maker page lists the older DCS380B as discontinued among related products, while the compared DCS382B is the current model with an in-stock exact-variant offer observed on 09/16/2026 — do not accept a DCS380B substitution at checkout.
Where to check the exact variants
Compare the DeWalt DCS382B bare saw (B09NP9H7SG) — observed 4.7 stars across 1,262 ratings and 300+ bought in the past month, item details binding Brand DEWALT with Model and MPN DCS382B and UPC 885911759052, variant-bound Add to Cart and Buy Now, and a This-item row at $144.99 with Only 9 left in stock sold by PrimePicks Commerce — against the Milwaukee 2821-20 M18 FUEL SAWZALL bare saw (B08WG2HC81) — observed 4.8 stars across 1,388 ratings and 600+ bought in the past month with #9 rank in Power Reciprocating Saws, item details binding Model and MPN 2821-20 with UPC 045242652828, variant-bound Add to Cart and Buy Now, and a This-item row at $183.98 with Only 1 left in stock sold by Super Bargains with Amazon Fulfillment shipping. Confirm the model code (DCS382B or 2821-20), the bare-tool box contents, and the live price, seller, delivery date and returns on the exact-variant page before buying. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases; prices and availability above were observed on 09/16/2026 and will change.