Buy the DeWalt DCF845P1 20V MAX XR kit (B0BW1L7LJH) if you want the lower observed outlay and already live on the 20V MAX platform; buy the Milwaukee 2953-22 M18 FUEL kit (B0BB86J415) if you want two 5.0Ah packs, a hard case and finer speed control, and you accept the higher observed price band. The DeWalt centers on a complete single-battery kit: the maker rates the DCF845 at 1,825 in-lbs of MAX torque and 3,400 RPM with a 3-speed selector, and the P1 box adds one 5.0Ah pack, charger, belt hook and soft kit bag. The Milwaukee centers on a fuller two-battery kit: the maker rates the 2953 at 2,000 in-lbs and 0–3,900 RPM with 4-mode drive control plus a self-tapping mode, and the 2953-22 box adds two XC5.0 packs, a multi-voltage charger, blow-molded case and belt clip. On 09/16/2026 both exact Amazon US listings showed Add to Cart and Buy Now with the featured price behind an add-to-cart step: the DeWalt page carried an Other-sellers rail of New (16) from $178.50 with a $180.00 In Stock row (Sep 21 delivery, sold by Voadera, Amazon Fulfillment shipping), and the Milwaukee page carried an Other-sellers rail of New (20) from $297.00 with a $297.14 row showing Only 2 left (Sep 21 delivery, sold by Metal Magery, Amazon Fulfillment shipping). Neither tool was tested by this publication: everything below comes from the maker pages, the instruction manuals and the observed listings, and you should confirm the live price, seller and stock before paying.

Choose by your situation

SituationModel to considerMain tradeoff
You already own 20V MAX batteries and want the cheapest complete kit observedDeWalt DCF845P1 kitOne 5.0Ah pack and a soft bag; rail from $178.50 with featured price behind add-to-cart on 09/16/2026
You already own M18 batteries, or want two big packs and a hard case in one boxMilwaukee 2953-22 kitHigher observed band (rail from $297.00); the low-stock $297.14 row showed Only 2 left on 09/16/2026
You drive lots of small or self-tapping screws and want the finest speed controlMilwaukee 2953-224-mode control plus a dedicated self-tapping mode for #8, #10 and #12 screws; more to learn than a 3-speed switch
You want the simpler switch and the longest maker-direct warranty story in the observed pagesDeWalt DCF845P13-speed selector with Precision Drive start mode; 3-year limited warranty with 1-year free service and 90-day satisfaction guarantee

What the two kits share

Both are brushless 1/4-inch hex impact drivers sold as full kits with battery and charger, both are positioned as their maker’s flagship compact driver, and both carry the same buying logic: the battery platform you already own matters more than the paper torque gap. Both makers pair the headline torque with a multi-speed selector and a work light, both ship a belt hook or clip, and both listings carried 4.7-star ratings with an Amazon’s Choice badge at observation (180 ratings on the DeWalt page, 600 on the Milwaukee page). Neither maker publishes a measured head-to-head test in the observed pages, so treat the 1,825 against 2,000 in-lbs figures as maker MAX claims under unknown loads, not as a calibration result.

DeWalt DCF845P1: the single-battery value kit

The DCF845P1 suits buyers who want a complete driver with the smallest box and the lowest observed outlay. Attribute to mechanism to consequence: the brushless motor’s 1,825 in-lbs MAX rating with a 0–3,400 RPM top speed drives lag-size screws, so deck, framing and cabinet installs stay inside one tool; the 3-speed selector starting with a 0–1,500 RPM Precision Drive mode (manual: Mode 2 to 2,800, Mode 3 to 3,400) caps the start of each fastener, so small screws strip less often; the 3-LED work light rings the chuck, so dim joist bays stay visible without a second hand. The P1 box keeps value framing honest: one DCB205 5.0Ah pack (about 100 Wh at 20 V times 5 Ah), a charger, belt hook and soft contractor bag, with Tool Connect chip readiness built in and the chip sold separately. Its limits are capacity and documentation: one pack means a second battery is a separate purchase for all-day work, the tool-only length and weight are not stated in the observed maker or listing blocks, and the manual itself says to check final torque with a torque wrench rather than trusting the driver. Warranty is the clearest of the two in the observed pages: 3-year limited, 1-year free service and 90-day satisfaction guarantee.

Milwaukee 2953-22: the two-battery control kit

The 2953-22 suits buyers who want maximum runtime in the box and the finest low-speed manners. Attribute to mechanism to consequence: the POWERSTATE brushless motor’s 2,000 in-lbs rating with 0–3,900 RPM top speed covers the same lag-size work with a higher paper ceiling, so heavy fasteners are not the constraint; the 4-mode drive control (manual RPM steps 0–1,700, 0–3,000 and 0–3,900) plus a dedicated self-tapping mode for #8, #10 and #12 screws between 1/2 and 1 inch walks screws less at the start, so sheet-metal and mixed-material jobs need fewer ruined fasteners; the Tri-LED array lights the work face while cutting shadows, so overhead and cabinet interiors read better. The 2953-22 box is the fuller buy: two REDLITHIUM XC5.0 packs (about 90 Wh each at 18 V times 5 Ah, 180 Wh in the box), a multi-voltage charger, blow-molded hard case and all-metal belt clip, inside a 250-plus-tool M18 system. The maker documents 4.47 inches of length and 3.8 pounds with a battery, with single-handed bit insertion. Its limits are price and live-offer thinness: the observed band starts at $297.00 with the featured price hidden, the $297.14 row showed Only 2 left from a third-party seller, and impact rate (IPM) is not stated in the observed pages. Warranty per the operator’s manual is five years on the power tool with stated exceptions.

Head-to-head on the criteria that change the answer

CriterionDeWalt DCF845P1Milwaukee 2953-22
Exact variantDCF845P1 kit (ASIN B0BW1L7LJH; Model and MPN DCF845P1)2953-22 kit (ASIN B0BB86J415; Model and MPN 2953-22)
Maker torque and speed1,825 in-lbs MAX; 3,400 RPM top2,000 in-lbs; 0–3,900 RPM top
Speed control mechanism3-speed selector with variable trigger; Precision Drive start at 0–1,500 RPM4-mode drive control (0–1,700 / 0–3,000 / 0–3,900 RPM) plus self-tapping mode for #8–#12 screws
Work lightIntegrated 3-LED work lightTri-LED lighting
What is in the boxDCF845 driver, one DCB205 5.0Ah pack, charger, belt hook, soft kit bag2953-20 driver, two XC5.0 packs, multi-voltage charger, blow-molded case, belt clip
Pack energy in the boxAbout 100 Wh (one 20 V by 5 Ah pack)About 180 Wh (two 18 V by 5 Ah packs)
Size and weight statedNot stated for the bare tool in observed pages; listing shows package-scale 5.8 x 3.38 x 5.8 in and 5.1 lb4.47 in long; 3.8 lb with battery per maker
Platform breadth20V MAX system (nominal 18 V; 20 V initial)M18 system, 250-plus solutions, all M18 packs and chargers compatible
Warranty in observed pages3-year limited, 1-year free service, 90-day satisfaction5-year power-tool warranty per manual, with exceptions
Observed Amazon US block (09/16/2026)Add to Cart and Buy Now present; Ships from Amazon, Sold by Voadera; featured price behind add-to-cart; New (16) from $178.50; $180.00 In Stock row, Sep 21, Voadera via FulfillmentAdd to Cart and Buy Now present; Shipper/Seller Full Box Solutions LLC; featured price behind add-to-cart; New (20) from $297.00; $297.14 row, Only 2 left, Sep 21, Metal Magery via Fulfillment
Listing reception4.7 across 180 ratings; Amazon’s Choice; #24 in Power Impact Drivers4.7 across 600 ratings; Amazon’s Choice; #37 in Power Impact Drivers

Kit math: why the box contents decide more than the torque line

The paper torque gap is 175 in-lbs, roughly ten percent, measured under conditions neither maker publishes in the observed pages, so it should not pick the winner by itself. The box gap is concrete: the Milwaukee kit carries two 5.0Ah packs and a hard case against the DeWalt kit’s one 5.0Ah pack and soft bag, which is about 180 Wh against about 100 Wh of included pack energy and a tougher box for truck life. Against that, the DeWalt rail started about $118 below the Milwaukee rail on 09/16/2026 (from $178.50 against from $297.00), which funds a second 5.0Ah pack later while still leaving money over. Platform ownership breaks the tie mechanically: a buyer with 20V MAX packs on the shelf gets no value from two M18 packs, and a buyer with M18 packs gets no value from another 20V MAX charger. Buy the kit that feeds the batteries you already charge.

Drawbacks and open facts on both sides

Neither page proves real driving speed: Milwaukee’s “fastest driving” line and both torque figures are maker claims, and Milwaukee’s impact rate is unstated in the observed blocks. Neither buybox showed its featured price statically on 09/16/2026, both featured sellers were third parties (Voadera on DeWalt; Full Box Solutions LLC on Milwaukee) rather than the maker or Amazon itself, and the cheapest visible rows were also third-party (Voadera at $180.00; Metal Magery at $297.14 with Only 2 left). DeWalt’s bare-tool length and weight need the manual or a hands-on check, and one pack limits continuous runtime. Milwaukee’s premium is real even before a second look at the live page, and its 4-mode system takes longer to learn than a 3-speed switch. Neither tool replaces a torque wrench for final tightening — both manuals point that way — and prices, sellers, delivery dates and low-stock rows move without notice.

Where to check the exact variants

Compare the DeWalt DCF845P1 20V MAX XR kit (B0BW1L7LJH) — observed 4.7 stars across 180 ratings with Add to Cart and Buy Now, Ships from Amazon and Sold by Voadera, featured price behind the add-to-cart step, New (16) from $178.50 — against the Milwaukee 2953-22 M18 FUEL kit (B0BB86J415) — observed 4.7 stars across 600 ratings with Add to Cart and Buy Now, Shipper/Seller Full Box Solutions LLC, featured price behind the add-to-cart step, New (20) from $297.00. Confirm the model code (DCF845P1 or 2953-22), the kit contents, and the live price, seller, delivery date and returns on the exact-variant page before buying. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases; prices and availability above were observed on 09/16/2026 and will change.

Compare your options

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

DeWalt DCF845P1 20V MAX XR 1/4-inch

Kit with 5.0Ah battery, charger and bag, US

Milwaukee M18 FUEL 2953-22 1/4-inch Hex

Kit with 2x XC5.0 packs, charger and case, US

Sources and further reading

  1. DeWalt — DCF845P1 20V MAX XR Impact Driver Kit
  2. DeWalt — DCF845 Impact Drivers Instruction Manual (PDF)
  3. Amazon.com — DeWalt DCF845P1 kit (B0BW1L7LJH)
  4. Milwaukee Tool — M18 FUEL 1/4 Hex Impact Driver Kit 2953-22
  5. Milwaukee Tool — 2953-20 Operator's Manual 58-14-9987d1 (PDF)
  6. Amazon.com — Milwaukee 2953-22 kit (B0BB86J415)