Buy the Bosch JS470E 7.0-amp top-handle kit (B004323NPK) if your work is clean curved cuts in wood and countertops and you already use T-shank blades, at $142.99; buy the DeWalt DW317K 5.5-amp top-handle saw with contractor bag (B0006FIOE8) if you want the lower ticket, bevel detents and the longer warranty, at $125.00 while its one observed unit lasts. The Bosch concentrates on cut quality under load: the maker pairs a 7.0-amp motor with Constant Response circuitry for consistent speed under load, a low-vibration plunging design, four orbital-action settings, a large die-cast aluminum footplate with steel insert, a switchable dust blower and a toolless multidirectional T-shank clamp with blade-ejection lever. The DeWalt concentrates on jobsite simplicity and coverage: the maker pairs a 5.5-amp motor with a keyless lever-action clamp, four cutting actions, an all-metal gear case, shoe bevels from 0 degrees to 45 degrees with detents at 0 and 45 degrees, and a 3-year limited warranty with 1-year free service and 90-day satisfaction. On 09/16/2026 the exact Bosch kit was In Stock on Amazon US at $142.99, shipped from and sold by Amazon.com, and the exact DeWalt kit was listed at $125.00 with only 1 left in stock, sold by TheHardwareSource and shipped from Amazon Fulfillment.

Shopping note: the links below are paid links to the exact listings observed for this comparison. As an Amazon Associate, Cadiens earns from qualifying purchases.

Choose by your situation

SituationModel to considerMain tradeoff
You cut countertops, curves and finish carpentry and want the clearest cut lineBosch JS470ET-shank blades only; U-shank blades you already own will not fit
You want the lowest observed ticket plus bevel detents and longer warrantyDeWalt DW317KOnly 1 unit was left from a third-party seller on 09/16/2026; confirm seller and stock live
You own U-shank blades and will not replace your blade stockDeWalt DW317K, after manual checkThe Bosch explicitly excludes U-shank blades; the DeWalt observed copy names a keyless clamp without a shank exclusion, so confirm fit in the manual
You carry the saw overhead or across a long punch list and feel every poundBosch JS470E5.6 lb against 7.4 lb is lighter but not light; the hard case adds carry bulk

Specifications that change the decision

CriterionBosch JS470E (B004323NPK)DeWalt DW317K (B0006FIOE8)
Power rating, per maker7.0 amp, 120V, 60Hz, with Constant Response circuitry for consistent speed under load5.5 amp corded, brushed motor; no load-compensation circuitry named in the observed copy
Speed range, per maker and manualNo-load 500 to 3,100 SPM; dial sets maximum speed, trigger controls operating speed, plus lock-on buttonVariable 0 to 3,100 SPM; manual describes approximately 500 to 3,100 SPM through the dial maximum
Stroke length1 inch, per maker technical data and manualNot stated in the observed maker or manual excerpts; confirm in the manual before comparing throw
Orbital actionFour orbital-action settings for smooth to aggressive cutsFour cutting actions: three orbital and one straight, per manual; 4-position orbital action, per maker
Blade clamp and shank fitToolless multidirectional clamp with blade-ejection lever; T-shank only, does not accept U-shank bladesKeyless lever-action clamp for quick changes; shank exclusion not stated in observed copy, and the listed accessory blades are T-shank
Bevel capacityFootplate bevels to 45 degrees with onboard bevel-wrench storage; no detents named in observed copyShoe bevels 0 to 45 degrees with detents at 0 and 45 degrees
Footplate and cut-line aidsLarge die-cast aluminum footplate with steel insert, non-marring overshoe and anti-splinter insert included, dust blower with on/off switch, dust-collection attachment availableBeveling shoe described without overshoe, anti-splinter insert, blower or collection attachment in observed copy
Gearbox and vibration designAluminum gearbox with insulated cover; low-vibration plunging design with internal precision controlAll-metal gear case for site durability; no anti-vibration system named in observed copy
Weight and size, per maker5.6 lb; 14 in long, 4 in wide, 8.43 in high7.4 lb; 12.25 in long, 9.4 in wide, 4.0 in high
Cutting capacity statedSoft wood 5-7/8 in, aluminum 0.875 in, mild steel 0.375 in, per maker technical dataNot stated in the observed maker or manual excerpts; confirm in the manual before comparing capacity
What is in the boxSaw, T-shank blade, anti-splinter insert, non-marring overshoe, bevel wrench and hard plastic carrying caseDW317 saw and contractor bag; blade inclusion not stated in the observed box list
Warranty in observed pages1-year limited warranty on the corded tool3-year limited warranty, 1-year free service, 90 days satisfaction guaranteed
Listing standing, not a test result4.8 out of 5 stars across 1,408 ratings, 100+ bought in past month4.7 out of 5 stars across 1,073 ratings, Amazon's Choice badge
Observed Amazon US offer, 09/16/2026$142.99, In Stock, shipped from and sold by Amazon.com; New and Used (8) from $142.99$125.00, only 1 left in stock, sold by TheHardwareSource and shipped from Amazon Fulfillment; New (11) from $125.00

Bosch JS470E: the clean-cut pick

The JS470E (7.0 amp, 120V top-handle kit) is the pick when the edge matters more than the ticket. The mechanism is explicit: set the maximum speed on the rear dial, feather the accelerator trigger for the cut at hand, and the Constant Response circuitry holds speed under load while the low-vibration plunging system keeps the 1-inch stroke on the line; switch the dust blower on and the cut line stays visible, and the four orbital settings move the stroke from smooth scrolling cuts to aggressive waste removal. The multidirectional clamp grips T-shank blades without tools and the ejection lever drops a hot blade without touching it, which keeps blade changes fast during countertop cutouts. Its limits are compatibility and coverage: U-shank blades are explicitly excluded, so a legacy blade box stays on the shelf; the 1-year corded warranty is shorter than the DeWalt's; and the observed $142.99 price sits $17.99 above the DeWalt while buying the hard case, overshoe and anti-splinter insert the DeWalt box does not list. The listing showed 4.8 out of 5 stars across 1,408 ratings, which is a listing display, not a test result.

DeWalt DW317K: the value-and-warranty pick

The DW317K (5.5 amp corded kit with contractor bag) is the pick when price, bevel repeatability and warranty horizon decide. The mechanism is explicit: lift the keyless lever, seat the blade fully in the clamp, release the lever, dial one of four cutting actions with three orbital steps plus straight, and cut bevels against the 0-degree and 45-degree detents; the all-metal gear case absorbs site handling that would scuff a lighter housing. Its limits are weight, refinement and availability: at 7.4 lb it carries 1.8 lb more than the Bosch, which accumulates on overhead or all-day trim runs; the observed copy names no dust blower, no overshoe, no anti-splinter insert and no cutting capacities, so finish tear-out control and thick-stock limits must be confirmed in the manual rather than assumed; and the observed $125.00 unit was the last one from third-party seller TheHardwareSource with Amazon Fulfillment shipping, so the price, seller and delivery date can move or vanish. The listing showed 4.7 out of 5 stars across 1,073 ratings with an Amazon's Choice badge, which is a listing display, not a test result.

Power, blades and what the numbers do not prove

Both saws are corded 120V top-handle jigsaws peaking at 3,100 strokes per minute with four orbital positions, so neither wins on headline speed or orbit count. The amp ratings differ, 7.0 against 5.5, but amps are maker input ratings, not measured cutting power or test results: the Bosch adds an explicit constant-speed-under-load circuit while the DeWalt names none, which positions the Bosch for steadier finish cuts without proving a wattage gap. Blade fit is the hard mechanical divider: the Bosch clamp takes T-shank blades and refuses U-shank blades outright, while the DeWalt keyless lever carries no shank exclusion in the observed copy and its listed accessory blades are T-shank, so T-shank owners are covered on both and U-shank owners must confirm the DeWalt in the manual. Stroke length is published only for the Bosch at 1 inch, and cutting capacities only for the Bosch at 5-7/8 inches in soft wood, so do not rank throw or depth against the DeWalt on these pages. Treat the 3,100 SPM tie as equal ceiling and the orbital controls as equal range; the real cutting difference, if any, lives in the unmeasured combination of circuitry, plunging design and blade, not in any single advertised number.

Handling, dust and what is in the box

Day-to-day difference comes down to weight, visibility and storage. The Bosch weighs 5.6 lb against the DeWalt at 7.4 lb, so the Bosch fatigues less on long or overhead cuts while the shorter, wider DeWalt body may feel steadier on flat stock; neither weight was measured hands-on here. Dust control favors the Bosch on paper: a blower with an on/off switch plus an available collection attachment and guide, against no blower or collection named for the DeWalt, which means cut-line visibility in dusty sheet goods goes to the Bosch unless the DeWalt manual says otherwise. The boxes differ in kind: the Bosch ships a hard plastic case with blade, overshoe, anti-splinter insert and bevel wrench, while the DeWalt ships a soft contractor bag with the saw and no blade, overshoe or insert in the observed list, so first-day readiness favors the Bosch and grab-and-go soft storage favors the DeWalt. Neither maker publishes a measured vibration figure in the observed pages, so treat low-vibration design and all-metal durability as maker descriptions, not comparative test outcomes.

Warranty and what it costs to own

The DeWalt warranty story is the longer of the two in the observed pages: 3-year limited warranty with 1-year free service and 90-day satisfaction against the Bosch 1-year limited corded warranty, so buyers who keep tools for years get more documented coverage from the DeWalt. Running cost is blades and wear parts on both sides: the Bosch includes one T-shank blade plus overshoe and anti-splinter insert, the DeWalt box lists no blade, and neither observed page prices replacement blades, so budget a blade set either way and confirm the DeWalt first blade in the manual. At the observed Amazon prices the DeWalt costs $17.99 less than the Bosch ($125.00 against $142.99) but from a third-party seller with one unit left, while the Bosch ships directly from Amazon.com with fuller stock signals, so confirm seller, delivery window and returns on the exact-variant page. Compare only the observed machine prices and the warranty split; electricity, blades and accessories are not observed here.

Where to check the exact variants

Compare the Bosch JS470E 7.0-amp top-handle kit (B004323NPK) (observed In Stock at $142.99 on 09/16/2026, shipped from and sold by Amazon.com) against the DeWalt DW317K 5.5-amp saw with contractor bag (B0006FIOE8) (observed at $125.00 on 09/16/2026 with only 1 left, sold by TheHardwareSource and shipped from Amazon Fulfillment). Model and inclusion matter here: the Bosch page centers the JS470E kit with case and inserts, and the DeWalt page centers the DW317K with bag and no listed blade, so confirm the model code and inclusion line on the exact-variant page before buying. If clean finish cuts with T-shank blades matter most, take the Bosch; if the lower ticket with detented bevels and longer warranty matters most, take the DeWalt while its observed unit lasts.

Compare your options

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

Bosch JS470E Top-Handle Jig Saw

JS470E 7.0A kit with case

DeWalt DW317K Top-Handle Jig Saw

DW317K 5.5A kit with bag

Sources and further reading

  1. Bosch — JS470E Top-Handle Jig Saw
  2. DeWalt — DW317K 5.5 Amp Jig Saw
  3. Bosch — JS470E instruction manual (PDF)
  4. DeWalt — DW317 instruction manual N259479 (PDF)
  5. Amazon.com — Bosch JS470E kit (B004323NPK)
  6. Amazon.com — DeWalt DW317K kit (B0006FIOE8)